Tour de France Stage 10 Results – Pello Bilbao Gets the Win

From the heart of the Chaîne des Puys the course took the riders over 167,2 kilometres through the Massif Central and the Auvergne region to Issoire. With barely any flat stretch on this stage, drama was almost guaranteed.

ICONSPORT 70466596 scaled
Flags and fans during stage 10 of the Tour de France; BELGA PHOTO PETE GODING – Photo by Icon sport

Tour de France 2023 Stage 10 Results

From the start of the stage, a group of ten riders set off, among them Matteo Jorgenson, whose heroics at the Puy de Dôme almost paid off. At the first climb of the day, the Col de la Moréno, there were two points for the polka-dot jersey to be won. Anton Charmig was the lucky one, followed by Remy Cavagna.

It was a hectic race, riders trying to form groups, thus stretching the main pack. On the first descend, the man in yellow, Jonas Vingegaard and his main rival Tadej Pogačar were in just another group, 13 riders in total, leaving the peloton behind them. The start to this stage was chaotic to say the least, the developments ever evolving, quickly changing.

After all, this is what Jasper Philipsen thought about the stage at this point. Already.

Things calmed down, at last

With 110 kilometres to go and the second climb of the day looming, things got calmer. There was a leading group consisting of 7 riders, followed by a larger bunch which included the top of the general classification, Vingegaard and Pogačar, which again was followed by the peloton. In between there were lone riders and smaller groups.

In that leading group was Pello Lopez who was 7′ 37” behind Vingegaard. His intentions were clear: get into the top ten of the GC and maybe hold on as long as possible for the stage win.

After the first two climbs came the intermediate sprint, alas there were no sprinters in position, so it was Kasper Asgreen taking the 20 points.

After that the biggest mountain of the day awaited and it was Warren Barguil who crossed the Col de la Croix Saint-Robert first, pocketing 5 points in the process. Esteban Chaves, who took 3 points, then set off alone and attempted the fourth climb on his own.

The Red Lantern

Behind them the peloton was reunited again. At the very, very end of the race, four riders, or stragglers rather, rode in front of the broom wagon with a delay of almost 18 minutes. This is just another race going on during the Tour de France: who will have the red lantern in Paris? However, this is a thin line as there is a time limit set for each stage and riders must be careful not to drop out in chase of some foolishness.

The pattern of the day: 14 got away

Finally, the scheme of the day for this stage appeared: a group fo 14 riders would ty to get to the finish while the peloton with seven minutes behind them wold surely let them have it. The contenders for the overall win would surely pay attention that the gap would not become too big, thus limiting the danger for the days to come.

On the climb up to the fifth and last summit of the day, Krist Neilands attacked and quickly opened up a gap. His attempt came to an end with about four kilometres left to race.

Pello Bilbao – the winner of stage 10

One man’s misfortune is another man’s luck. And so it happened that Pello Bilbao won the stage after he countered an attack from Georg Zimmermann. Both played cat and mouse with the Spaniard having the edge over Zimmermann.

His plan has worked well as he is now in the top ten of the overall classification of this year’s Tour de France.

He dedicated his victory to his team mate Gino Mäder who tragically died in an accident earlier this year. Further, he will donate €1 for every rider he will have beaten in every stage of the Tour this year. The money goes to the charity of Mäder which tackles deforestation.

The top five of Stage 10

  1. Pello Bilbao (Bahrain Victorious) 3hr 52min 34sec
  2. Georg Zimmermann (Intermarché–Circus–Wanty)
  3. Ben O’Connor (AG2R-Citroën)
  4. Krists Neilands (Israel–Premier Tech)
  5. Esteban Chaves (EF Education-EasyPost)

The peloton finished almost three minutes later

The Top Five of the General Classification

  1. Jonas Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) 42hr 33min 13sec
  2. Tadej Pogacar (UAE Emirates) +17sec
  3. Jai Hindley (Bora-Hansgrohe) +2min 40sec
  4. Carlos Rodriguez (Ineos Grenadiers) +4min 22sec
  5. Pello Bilbao (Bahrain Victorious) +4min 34sec

Clearly, Bilbao’s gamble paid off and he is now a top ten rider.

Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!