basketball FIBA World Cup

FIBA World Cup 2023 format explained

The 19th edition of the FIBA World Cup will take place from August 25th to September 10th in the Philippines, Japan, and Indonesia. As the 32 national basketball teams prepare to battle hard for the right to be named World Champions here is a more detailed look at the format of the tournament and each of the 3 main stages.

FIBA format explained scaled
(Photo by Anthony Dibon/Icon Sport)

FIBA World Cup format Group Stage (August 25 – August 30) explained

There will be eight groups, comprised of four teams, lettered from A to H. Every team plays against the three other teams in their group for a grand total of 48 games (three games per team, six games per group).
The top two teams from each group qualify for the second round, while the bottom two teams from each group play in the Classification Round for places 17-32.

Here is the draw for the 8 groups:

  • Group A: Angola, Dominican Republic, Italy, Philippines
  • Group B: China, Puerto Rico, Serbia, South Sudan
  • Group C: Greece, Jordan, New Zealand, USA
  • Group D: Egypt, Lithuania, Mexico, Montenegro
  • Group E: Australia, Finland, Germany, Japan
  • Group F: Cape Verde, Georgia, Slovenia, Venezuela
  • Group G: Brazil, Cote d’ivoire, Iran, Spain
  • Group H: Canada, France, Latvia, Lebanon

Groups A and B will play in the Araneta Coliseum in Manila, the Philippines, while C and D will also be in Manila at the Moa Arena. Groups E and F have the luxury of playing at the Okinawa Arena, Japan while finally, Groups G and H will be at Jakarta, at the Indonesia Arena.

FIBA World Cup format Group Phase (August 31 – September 4) explained

The results of the three games from the Group Stage are carried over to the second round, the Group Phase. these teams are lettered I-L. Every team plays against the two teams in their group they didn’t face in the 1st round, for a total of 16 games (two games per team, four games per group).

The top two teams from each group qualify for the Quarter-Finals, while the bottom two teams from each group are eliminated and are ranked in places 9-16 according to the official basketball rules.

Here is how the four groups will be formed:

  • Group I: Group A winner, Group A runner-up, Group B winner, Group B runner-up
  • Group J: Group C winner, Group C runner-up, Group D winner, Group D runner-up
  • Group K: Group E winner, Group E runner up, Group F winner, Group F runner-up
  • Group L: Group G winner, Group G runner-up, Group H winner, Group H runner-up

FIBA World Cup format Final Phase (September 05 – September 10) explained

FIBA schedule scaled
(Photo by Herve Bellanger/Icon Sport)

Across these five days, the final eight teams will compete in a series of matches to decide the winner and two runners up on September 10. The format is one-game knockout which means that the 4 winners from the quarterfinals progress through to the semifinals, while the 4 teams that lose their quarterfinals play for 5-8 positions.

The 2 winning teams of the semifinals then meet to decide the new FIBA World Champion, while the 2 losing teams fight it out for the bronze medals.

All matches from the Final Phase will be played in the famous Mall of Asia Arena in Manilla, Philippines and we’re guaranteed to be treated to another ‘Thrilla in Manilla’ on September 10th when we will find out the name of the new World Champions!

Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!

About the author


Iskra had a promising, at least she believed so, tennis and volleyball careers as a junior but a series of injuries ended her hopes to become a professional athlete very early.

Instead, she focused all her energy on her other passion, writing. For over a decade, Iskra had been a freelance sports writer. Football, basketball and tennis are the main fields of her expertise.