Formula One

F1 Italian GP results: Verstappen scores record-setting 10th straight win

f1 italian gp 2023 max verstappen scaled
Max Verstappen (NLD) Red Bull Racing RB19. 03.09.2023. Formula 1 World Championship, Rd 15, Italian Grand Prix, Monza, Italy, Race Day. –, EMail: [email protected] © Copyright: Batchelor / XPB Images – Photo by Icon sport

Max Verstappen has added another record to his resume. The Dutchman won an action-packed Italian Grand Prix, becoming the first driver in F1 history to win 10 races in a row.

F1 Italian GP results: Who won the race?

Max Verstappen won the Italian Grand Prix. The Dutchman passed pole-sitter Carlos Sainz Jr. on lap 15 and never looked back on the way to his record-setting 10th consecutive victory. Sergio Perez got around the Ferraris of Charles Leclerc and Sainz to score a 1-2 for Red Bull. Sainz fended off teammate Leclerc for third, scoring a popular home podium for Ferrari.

Sainz leads after a delayed start

The Italian GP took a while to go green. At the end of the formation lap, Yuki Tsunoda pulled off to the side of the circuit on the main straight, retiring with an apparent engine failure. The grid set off for a second formation lap, but with Tsunoda’s car still stuck in gear, the marshalls were unable to remove it in time. As a result, the start was delayed by 20 minutes, leading to another grid procedure.

After a long wait, the third formation lap went on without a hitch, and the Grand Prix finally got underway. In unusual fashion for Monza, the start was extremely clean, with no cars taking to the runoff at Retifillo. Sainz defended the lead into turn 1, with Verstappen, Leclerc, George Russell and Perez retaining their spots in the top 5.

Sainz cracks under Verstappen’s pressure

Ferrari clearly had the edge in straightline speed, with Sainz successfully using it to his advantage and keeping Verstappen at bay. The Dutchman, however, remained within DRS range. On lap 11, Sainz managed to rebuff the first of Verstappen’s attempts. But four laps later, the Ferrari driver ultimately cracked under Verstappen’s pressure.

At the start of lap 15, Sainz locked up his brakes into Retifillo, losing a lot of momentum into Curva Grande. That allowed Verstappen enough space to line up a move, which the Red Bull successfully completed under braking into Roggia. He quickly pulled out of DRS range, dropping Sainz into the clutches of Leclerc. At the start of lap 16, Perez also got around Russell for fourth, after another prolonged battle.

On lap 20, Leclerc was the first of the front-runners to pit. A lap later, it was Verstappen’s and Sainz’s turn. While the Dutchman got out comfortably ahead, Sainz and Leclerc nearly ran into each other at Retifillo. The Spaniard managed to retain the runner-up spot. On lap 22, Perez came in for his stop. The Mexican remained in fourth place, behind the Ferrari pair.

Verstappen drivers off, Perez gets on the podium

Lando Norris and Lewis Hamilton remained out on track. The McLaren driver was the first to pit, bleding back in right in front of teammate Oscar Piastri. The pair made contact into Retifillo but managed to continue, with Norris moving ahead for seventh.

Verstappen was able to pass Hamilton on track, cycling back to the lead. The British driver was also overtaken by  Sainz, Leclerc and Perez in succession before pitting at the end of lap 29.

Quicker on the hard tyres, Perez quickly closed down the gap to the Ferraris, setting off in pursuit of Leclerc. A first attempt on lap 31 was rebuffed by Leclerc, with the pair making contact on the braking zone for Roggia. At the end of the lap, however, the Red Bull’s pace proved too much to handle. With DRS help, Perez got around the outside down the main straight and moved into third place.

On lap 42, Perez got within Sainz’s DRS range to attack for second place. Down the order, Hamilton cut across Piastri’s nose into Roggia, with the pair making contact and the Aussie picking up front wing damage. The British driver  received a five-second penalty for the infraction.

On lap 45, Perez finally got around Sainz for second, despite some staunch defending from the polesitter. A lap later, Leclerc got ahead of Sainz into Retifillo, but locked up his brakes and allowed the Spaniard back. With a similar  move into Roggia, Sainz got back past for third.

The Ferraris continued to squabble. On lap 50, pit wall radioded in and told the pair to hold station. Leclerc, however, still went for a last-grasp move into turn 1 on the final lap, nearly taking both drivers out. Despite the final attempt, the two remained in position, with Sainz completing the podium.

Piastri secured the fastest lap, but having finished down in 11th, did not pick up the bonus point. Russell, Hamilton, Alexander Albon, Norris, Fernando Alonso and Valtteri Bottas completed the top 10.


Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!