German Darts Championship Preview, Dates and Predictions 2023

The 2023 German Darts Championship is the final event on this season’s PDC European Tour. It’s the last opportunity for someone to grab a title and this year’s edition returns to Hildesheim at Halle 39. The tournament will be played from October 13th-15th.

The 13 European Tour events serve as qualifiers for the European Championships. The top 32 players on the Order of Merit, which is based on the prize money earned from the European Tour events, go forward to the next edition of the European Championships at the end of the month.

So there is some big ranking money up for grabs and some added pressure on those players who need to go deep in this draw to try to reach those European Championships.

Here we look forward to the 2023 German Darts Championship and also provide daily darts predictions across the tournament.

German Darts Championship Predictions

Follow our daily predictions for the 2023 German Darts Championship. We look for the best odds not only from the match outright, but other select darts markets for the daily action, like handicaps and correct scores.

Defending Champion Michael Van Gerwen will naturally be in the leading pack of contenders, along with recent World Grand Prix Darts title-winner Luke Humphries who has reached six European Tour Finals this season.

Other major names in the field include Michael Smith, Gerwyn Price, Jonny Clayton, Peter Wright and Dave Chisnall all of whom have won European Tour event titles this season. Martin Schindler is the highest-ranked German player in the field.

The first four rounds of the tournament are the best of 11 legs, while the semi-finals go up to the best of 13 and the Final is a best-of-15 fixture.

2023 German Darts Championship Draw & Prize Money

The PDC European Tour events are fast-paced tournaments, squeezed into three days of action. So punters will have plenty of darts betting odds and predictions to pour over as the tournament marches on.

Following the standard format, there will be 48 players taking part in this PDC European Tour event – 16 seeds and 32 qualifiers. 32 players fight it out in the First Round, with the winners of those matches moving ahead to face one of the Top 16 seeds in the Second Round.

So there are no potential clashes between seeded players until the Third Round.

The 2023 German Darts Championship winner collects £30,000 on the night, out of the overall prize pot of £175,000.

Reigning champion

The defending champion is Michael van Gerwen who beat Rob Cross 8-5 in last year’s German Darts Championship final. MVG enjoyed fairly smooth progress throughout the field, helped by a walkover in a scheduled quarter-final against Peter Wright. Van Gerwen beat Dimitri Van den Bergh in the semis before claiming the title against Cross. It was the Dutchman’s third German Darts Championship title.

Van Gerwen has won four PDC European Championship titles during his illustrious career and has already done more than enough this season to get to qualify for the next edition. His one title on this season’s European Tour came at the Belgian Darts Open in early May.

German Darts Championship Top 16 Seeded Players

  1. Dave Chisnall
  2. Damon Heta
  3. Luke Humphries
  4. Dirk van Duijvenbode
  5. Josh Rock
  6. Rob Cross
  7. Gerwyn Price
  8. Michael van Gerwen
  9. Joe Cullen
  10. Peter Wright
  11. Michael Smith
  12. Danny Nopport
  13. Martin Schindler
  14. Nathan Aspinall
  15. Ryan Searle


Michael van Gerwen German Darts Championship

About the German Darts Championship

The German Darts Championship was inaugurated in 2007 and was pulled after just three editions. It returned in 2012 as a tournament on the PDC European Tour and the first edition of the renewed event was won by legend Phil Taylor who beat Dave Chisnall in Berlin.

The tournament then moved to Hildesheim in 2013 where it has remained for a decade. No other player besides Michael van Gerwen and the retired Phil Taylor has managed to win the German Darts Championship on more than one occasion.

Peter Wright, Dave Chisnall and Gary Anderson have all reached two Finals, each winning one and losing one of their respective appearances.

2023 PDC European Tour Events And Winners

24–26 February – Baltic Sea Darts Open – Dave Chisnall
24–26 March – European Darts Open – Gerwyn Price
31 March–2 April – International Darts Open – Gerwyn Price
8–10 April – German Darts Grand Prix – Michael Smith
21–23 April – Austrian Darts Open – Jonny Clayton
28–30 April – Dutch Darts Championship – Dave Chisnall
5–7 May – Belgian Darts Open – Michael van Gerwen
12–14 May – Czech Darts Open – Peter Wright
26–28 May – European Darts Grand Prix – Rob Cross
30 June–2 July – European Darts Matchplay Luke Humphries
8–10 September – German Darts Open – Krzysztof Ratajski
22–24 September – Hungarian Darts Trophy – Dave Chisnall
13–15 October – German Darts Championship – TBD

Where To Watch The German Darts Championship 2023

The German Darts Championship 2023 will be broadcast live on PDC TV as well as various other broadcasters around the world. Look out for potential live streams at betting sites as well, especially when teeing it up with live in-play darts betting.

Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!

About the author

Lee Jackson

Lee has been a freelance sports writer for over a decade and is a massive sports fan, following Chelsea in the Premier League and Gloucester in Premiership Rugby. Few sports events get him more excited than Ashes cricket, however.

Lee has followed darts since the good old days of Eric Bristow and John Lowe producing highlight moments at the World Championships on dark winter nights.