PD European Darts Matchplay 2023 Tournament Details

After a break of more than a month, the PDC European Tour makes a return for the 10th event of the season. Rob Cross was the latest winner on the Tour, back at the European Darts Grand Prix in Sindelfingen, Germany at the end of May.
These latest darts predictions come from the European Darts Matchplay, another of the season’s many events hosted in Germany, this time from the Trier Arena.

2023 European Darts Matchplay

This is an important tournament because it’s the final chance that players have to qualify for the 2023 World Matchplay tournament. The top 16 players on the PDC Order of Merit at the conclusion of this weekend’s event, will confirm spots at July’s World Matchplay. Those sixteen players will be joined by 16 qualifiers from the ProTour Order of Merit’s rolling one-year list.

For the European Darts Grand Prix tournament, 48 players enter into the draw for this PDC European Tour event. The winner collects £30,000 on the night, out of the overall prize pot of £175,000.

Reigning Champion

Luke Humphries won last year’s edition of the European Darts Matchplay and he will kick off his title defence against either Liam Maendl-Lawrance or Marko Kantele in the Second Round.

Humphries won four European Tour titles last year and already has made an appearance in four of the Tour’s finals this season. But silverware has thus far eluded him, most recently losing the European Darts Grand Prix Final to Rob Cross. Humphries goes as the top seed in Trier.

2023 European Darts Matchplay Details

All of the regular season PDC European Tour darts tournaments operate on the same format. Friday, June 30th will see all First Round matches played, with the Second Round of the event being played on day two.

The tournament will then draw to its conclusion on Sunday, July 2nd, when the Third Round, Quarter Finals, Semifinals and Final are all completed. There are 48 players for the draw, 32 of which line up in the First Round.

Those matches will determine which sixteen players move forward to then meet one of the Top 16-seeded players in the tournament. Along with the reigning champion Luke Humphries, Michael van Gerwen and Michael Smith are also lining up at the oche in Germany.

The first four rounds of the tournament are the best of 11 legs, while the semi-finals go up to the best of 13 and the Final is a best-of-15 fixture.

European Darts Matchplay Top 16 Seeded Players

  1. Luke Humphries
  2. Dirk van Duijvenbode
  3. Dave Chisnall
  4. Damon Heta
  5. Rob Cross
  6. Michael van Gerwen
  7. Michael Smith
  8. Nathan Aspinall
  9. Danny Noppert
  10. Josh Rock
  11. Ryan Searle
  12. Jonny Clayton
  13. Martin Schindler
  14. Joe Cullen
  15. Dimitri Van den Bergh
  16. Ross Smith

2023 PDC European Tour Events And Winners

24–26 February – Baltic Sea Darts Open – Dave Chisnall
24–26 March – European Darts Open – Gerwyn Price
31 March–2 April – International Darts Open – Gerwyn Price
8–10 April – German Darts Grand Prix – Michael Smith
21–23 April – Austrian Darts Open – Jonny Clayton
28–30 April – Dutch Darts Championship – Dave Chisnall
5–7 May – Belgian Darts Open – Michael van Gerwen
12–14 May – Czech Darts Open – Peter Wright
26–28 May – European Darts Grand Prix – Robb Cross
30 June–2 July – European Darts Matchplay
8–10 September – German Darts Open
22–24 September – Hungarian Darts Trophy
13–15 October – German Darts Championship

Where To Watch The European Darts Matchplay 2023

The 2023 European Darts Matchplay will be broadcast live on PDC TV and through Viaplay in the UK, as well as various other broadcasters around the world. Look out for potential live streams at betting sites as well, especially when teeing it up with live in-play darts betting.

Premier League Darts

PDC European Darts Matchplay FAQ

When is the PDC European Darts Matchplay 2023? – The tournament is being held June 30 – July 2, 2023

Where is the PDC European Darts Matchplay 2023? – The Trier Arena, Trier is the host venue of the event in Germany

Who is the reigning European Darts Matchplay champion? – Luke Humphries who beat Rowby-John Rodriguez 8-7.

Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!

About the author

Lee Jackson

Lee has been a freelance sports writer for over a decade and is a massive sports fan, following Chelsea in the Premier League and Gloucester in Premiership Rugby. Few sports events get him more excited than Ashes cricket, however.

Lee has followed darts since the good old days of Eric Bristow and John Lowe producing highlight moments at the World Championships on dark winter nights.