Darts Premier League 2023 Schedule and Fixtures

The Darts Premier League 2023 gives fans and punters top-class weekly action to look forward to. The travelling show will once again take the same 17 venues from the previous edition and it also keeps the new format that was adopted in the 2022 season.

For all the latest information about the Darts Premier League 2023 schedule and fixtures, this is the page that you need.

When is the 2023 Premier League Darts?

Belfast was the scene of the opening act of the 2023 Premier League Darts season. The SSE Arena hosted the action on February 2nd, raising the curtain on another mouth-watering season of top darts betting action.

The season will draw to a conclusion in May for the climax of Finals night. Heading into 2023 the pressure of defending the title is on the shoulders of reigning champion Michael van Gerwen.

2023 Premier League Darts Dates

Here are the dates that you need to pencil in so that you don’t miss a single minute of the darts betting action from the league. Each night there will be a total of seven fixtures played across the newer knockout format.

  • 2nd February 2023 – Belfast, SSE Arena
  • 9th February 2023 – Cardiff, Cardiff International Arena
  • 16th February 2023 – Glasgow, OVO Hydro
  • 23rd February 2023 – Dublin, 3Arena
  • 2nd March 2023 – Exeter, Westpoint Arena
  • 9th March 2023 – Liverpool, M&S Bank Arena
  • 16th March 2023 – Nottingham, Motorpoint Arena
  • 23rd March 2023 – Newcastle, Utilita Arena
  • 30th March 2023 – Berlin, Mercedes-Benz Arena
  • 6th April 6 2023 – Birmingham, Utilita Arena
  • 13th April 2023 – Brighton, The Brighton Centre
  • 20th April 2023 – Rotterdam, Rotterdam Ahoy
  • 27th April 2023 – Leeds, First Direct Arena
  • 4th May 2023 – Manchester, AO Arena
  • 11th May 2023 – Sheffield, Utilita Arena
  • 18th May 2023 – Aberdeen, P&J Live
  • 25th May 2023 – London, The O2

Premier League Darts Final

Who won the 2023 Premier League Darts?

Michael van Gerwen was crowned Premier League Darts Champion in 2023. He toppled Gerwyn Price in the Final, to win his record-breaking seventh PL title. It was the second successive success as well for the Dutchman.

With the 2023 Premier League schedule and fixtures all wrapped up, it’s a wait until next spring for the beginning of the 2024 Premier League Darts action.

Premier League Darts 2023 Venues

No changes have been made to the venues that were used in last season’s Premier League. It’s seventeen venues across the UK & Northern Ireland and beyond that will serve as hosts. Along with the likes of Exeter, Liverpool and Birmingham hosting in England, the Premier League Darts season also takes place in Ireland, the Netherlands and Germany.

Here are the number of venues in use by country for the 2023 Premier League Darts season.

  • England 10
  • Scotland 2
  • Wales 1
  • Northern Ireland 1
  • Ireland 1
  • Germany 1
  • Netherlands 1

When is the Premier League Darts Final?

The long grind of weekly bracket darts action in the Premier League all builds to the Final of the competition. Finals night is the headline act of the Premier League Darts season, as both the semi-finals and the Final are contested on the same night.

This year’s Premier League Darts Final Fixture is booked for Thursday, May 25th at The O2 in London.

Who Won Last Year’s Premier League Darts?

Michael van Gerwen picked up the title in the 2022 edition of the Premier League Darts. The Dutchman had finished second in the regular season standing behind Jonny Clayton. MVG was nine points behind the Welshman, but still comfortably secured his top-four finish to make the semi-finals.

In the 2022 Premier League Darts Final Van Gerwen met Joe Cullen and they produced an epic match. The Final went down to the wire, with Van Gerwen winning the deciding leg for an 11-10 victory over Cullen, who was making his debut in the competition.

The losing semi-finalists in last year’s Premier League darts were Jonny Clayton, beaten by Cullen and James Wade, beaten by Van Gerwen.

Who is the 2023 Premier League Darts Favourite?

Michael van Gerwen is lined up by bookmakers as being the player to beat to the title once again. It’s understandable as Mighty Mike is a six-time winner of the Premier League Darts. His 2022 title moved him to level at the top of the charts alongside Phil Taylor.

Van Gerwen is the formidable force in the game and he will be tough to knock off his perch. Among the main contenders that bookmakers have priced up at the head of the Premier League Darts Odds for the outright winner market, only Michael Smith and Gerwyn Price came in at single figures.

Premier League Darts Betting – Popular Markets

The popular Premier League Darts betting markets for individual matches include the Winner’s market, correct score and handicaps for the fixtures. But players can also dip into some great live in-play darts betting action for further wagering opportunities.

For the longer-term outright bets on the Premier League season, there are different angles into the action as well. There is the season winner, To Top The League, To Finish Bottom, To Reach The Semi-Final and plenty of other options.

2023 Premier League Darts Players

Five of this year’s Premier League Darts players competed in last year’s action (Michael Smith, Peter Wright, Michael Van Gerwen, Gerwyn Price and Jonny Clayton). The first four all earned their places as the top four ranked players on the Order of Merit.

Nathan Aspinall and Dimitri Van den Bergh make their returns to the action not having participated last season, while Chris Dobey makes his debut in the tournament. Missing from the 2022 season are James Wade, Gary Anderson and runner-up Joe Cullen.

2023 Premier League Darts Format

A big change happened to Premier League Darts last year with the introduction of a new format for each of the Nights. The competition moved away from single head-to-head matches, to introduce a bracket tournament for each Night.

The updated Premier League Darts schedule, geared towards producing more competitive matches, works on a points season. Each night starts with four Quarter Final matches before the winners go on to the semi-finals and the last two standing on the Night face off in the Final.

Points are awarded for the finishing position on the night. The winner of the Night gets 5 points and the runner-up three points. Losing semi-finalists earn two points for their efforts and any players eliminated in the quarter-finals collect a single point for the night.

Points accumulate for the Premier League standings, and the top four at the end of the regular season, go through to Finals night.

Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!

About the author

Lee Jackson

Lee has been a freelance sports writer for over a decade and is a massive sports fan, following Chelsea in the Premier League and Gloucester in Premiership Rugby. Few sports events get him more excited than Ashes cricket, however.

Lee has followed darts since the good old days of Eric Bristow and John Lowe producing highlight moments at the World Championships on dark winter nights.