The Best FIFA football awards: Where to watch, what time and who is nominated

The Best FIFA football awards: Where to watch, what time and who is nominated

Some of football’s biggest names will gather tonight for FIFA’s The Best football awards. The awards ceremony, which has been hosted every year since 2017, will see eleven footballers from the men’s and women’s games receive awards for their exploits in 2022. 

After Karim Benzema won the Ballon d’Or in October, it is expected that the Frenchman will enjoy another excellent evening tonight. However, since then Argentina have lifted the World Cup so Lionel Messi may well add another trophy to his ever-growing cabinet. 

With the ceremony just hours away, we’re here to provide you with all the answers to the most important questions surrounding the event. 

When are the FIFA Best awards?

The FIFA Best awards take place on Monday the 27th of February 2023 in Paris. 

What time do the FIFA Best awards start?

The awards ceremony is set to officially start at 8pm UK time. 

How can I watch the event?

Viewers in the United Kingdom will be able to watch the awards ceremony via the red button on BBC One. Alternatively, they will be able to watch the even on a live stream via BBC iPlayer. To access iPlayer, you will need to have a UK television license and an account on the platform. If you don’t already have one then make sure to sign up before the event starts.

What awards are given out?

The following awards will be given out throughout the two-hour event:

  • The Best Fifa men’s player
  • The Best Fifa women’s player
  • The Best Fifa men’s coach
  • The Best Fifa women’s coach
  • The Best Fifa men’s goalkeeper
  • The Best Fifa women’s goalkeeper
  • The Best Fifa Puskas award
  • The Best Fifa fan award
  • Fifa Fifpro men’s world XI
  • Fifa Fifpro women’s world XI
  • Fifa Fair Play award

Who is going to win FIFA Best Men’s Player?

One of three men will win the coveted FIFA Best Men’s Player award. The three nominees are Karim Benzema, Kylian Mbappe and Lionel Messi. Realistically, Mbappe isn’t in the running after France lost the World Cup final which means it will be a straight race between Benzema and Messi.

While Benzema had the season of his life and won the UEFA Champions League, Lionel Messi won the only major championship missing from his medal collection – the World Cup. 

Who is going to win FIFA Best Women’s Player?

The three final nominees for the FIFA Best Women’s Player award are Beth Mead, Alex Morgan and Alexia Putellas. Putellas is the favourite after a wonderful year for Barcelona, however, Beth Mead could prove to be a shock winner after leading England to their first European Championship in history last summer. The Arsenal forward won Sports Personality of the Year a few months ago. 

Who will win the Puskas award?

After an originally bloated shortlist, the final nominee for the Puskas award are Marcin Olesky for his goal for Warta Poznan against Stal Rzeszow, Dimitri Payet for his goal for Marseille against PAOK Thessaloniki, and Richarlison for his goal for Brazil against Serbia. 

As Richarlison’s goal came in the World Cup, it is expected that the Brazilian will win this one.

Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!