FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023: Kick off times, England info & where can I watch it?

FIFA Women’s World Cup 2023:  Kick off times, England info & where can I watch it?
An England fan holds a "Bring It Home" sign in the stands as England celebrate winning the UEFA Women's Euro 2022 final at Wembley Stadium, London. Picture date: Sunday July 31, 2022. - Photo by Icon sport

The wait for the ninth edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup is almost over, as we enter the month football fans have been waiting for with the tournament set to start later in July. All eyes will turn to Australia and New Zealand, who will co-host the competition between the 20th July and 20th August 2023, marking a special occasion for the sport for many reasons. 

For the first time in the history of the tournament, 32 nations will take part from the group stages surpassing the 24 teams that made up the 2019 Women’s World Cup in France that saw the United States claim their fourth title. Most excitingly, president of FIFA Gianni Infantino revealed that the 2023 competitions has sold a total of 1,032,884 tickets, surpassing the number of sales made in 2019 to highlight the growth and success the path that Women’s football is taking. 

When does the Women’s World Cup Kick Off?

The two hosts will take to the stage on Thursday 20th July to mark the start of the tournament, with New Zealand hosting Norway in the first match at Eden Park in Auckland with a local time kick off of 17:00 (08:00 GMT).  

Australia will follow in hosting the Republic of Ireland at 20:00 in Sydney Olympic Park at the Stadium Australia, with kick off coming live at 11:00 for viewers in the United Kingdom, with more broadcast information to follow. 

What is the Group Information for the Women’s World Cup?

Eight groups will make up the first round of the tournament, with the host nations being in Group A (New Zealand) and Group B (New Zealand). England will feature in Group D, with record champions the United States occupying what is set to be a thrilling Group E. See full list of groups below: 

Group A: New Zealand, Norway, Philippines, Switzerland.

Group B: Australia, Republic of Ireland, Nigeria, Canada. 

Group C: Spain, Costa Rica, Zambia, Japan. 

Group D: England, Haiti, Denmark, China PR.

Group E: U.S.A, Vietnam, Netherlands, Portugal.

Group F: France, Jamaica, Brazil, Panama. 

Group G: Sweden, South Africa, Italy, Argentina. 

Group H: Germany, Morocco, Colombia, Korea Republic. 

What Are England’s Chances & When Do They Play?

As highlighted, England are in Group D of the tournament, and will kick off their campaign on Saturday 22nd July against Haiti in Brisbane at the Suncorp Stadium. All of England’s games will be televised with group fixtures and where to watch listed below:

England vs Haiti – Saturday 22nd July 10:30am GMT on ITV

England vs Denmark – Friday 28th July 09:30am GMT on BBC

China vs England – Tuesday 1st August 12:00pm GMT on ITV

For viewers in the UK, coverage will be available for every game via the BBC and ITV, with the BBC confirming that they will broadcast the semi-final’s with both channels broadcasting the final on the 20th August. 

England will be travelling slightly light in terms of the talent that will not feature in the tournament due to sustaining injuries. Goal getter Beth Mead will be absent from Sarina Wiegman’s squad as she continues to recover from a ACL injury sustained late last year. 

The 28-year-old was England’s shining light at the UEFA Women’s Euro 2022 tournament, winning the Golden Boot and Player of the Tournament for claiming six goals and five assists in six matches. The Lionesses historically won the Euro’s in 2022, however will have to attempt to win the biggest international trophy without the threat of Mead leading the line. 

Arsenal teammate and England’s captain will also miss out due to an ACL injury, after tearing her ACL in April, leaving her agonisingly away from the action in Australasia, with Fran Kirby also missing out due to requiring knee surgery. The 30-year-old attacking midfielder has a presence in the final third that will be missed, having scored 17 goals in 65-caps for her country. 

Despite the injury woes, England are second favourites to win the tournament at 7/2, with four time winners the United States expectedly firm favourites to claim their fifth world title at 13/5. 

Who Is In England’s Squad?

Goalkeepers: Mary Earps, Hannah Hampton, Ellie Roebuck.

Defenders: Millie Bright, Lucy Bronze, Jess Carter, Niamh Charles, Alex Greenwood, Esme Morgan, Lotte Wubben-Moy.

Midfielders: Laura Coombs, Jordan Nobbs, Georgia Stanway, Ella Toone, Keira Walsh, Katie Zelem.

Forwards: Rachel Daly, Bethany England, Lauren Hemp, Lauren James, Chloe Kelly, Katie Robinson, Alessia Russo.

Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!