Laver Cup 2023 format – how is the winner determined?

The Laver Cup is a tournament that was established in 2017. It is a unique event between Team Europe and Team World and usually takes place two weeks after the US Open. The location of the tournament rotates between various host cities, and Vancouver is the place where the tournament is taking place this year. Since 2019, the Laver Cup has been an official ATP tournament but the tournament itself does not count towards the players’ point totals in the ATP Tour for that year.

Icon AP 12430250
Photo by Icon sport

Laver Cup format

The Laver Cup brings us the best players in the world separated in two teams of six players, Team Europe and Team World. Each team has a tennis legend as a team captain. Three of the six players on the teams qualify based on their ATP singles ranking as of the Monday following the French Open in June. The other three players are selected by the team captains and are announced by the start of the US Open.

The tournaments lasts three days with a total of 12 matches played. A fun fact is that the matches are not equally valued as the victories in those played on day 1 bring one point, on Day 2 two points and on day 3 three points. The team that goes to 13 points wins the tournament. This means that the winner of the tournament cannot be decided earlier than the last day.

None of the players can play single matches more than twice and at least four of the six team members take part in the doubles matches. The matches are played in the best of two format, with a 10-point “match tiebreak” been played if the score is tied after two sets. This rule is applied to make the matches more intense and to make sure that no match will last more than two hours, so all four matches on the daily schedule can finish within a day since all of them are played on the same court.

If the teams are tied at 12 points each at the end of the fourth match on day 3, a fifth match known as the “The Decider” will determine the winner, where only one set is played as a regular set. If a team reaches 13 points after only one match played on day 3, then the rest of the regular matches are cancelled and an exhibition match is played following the trophy ceremony.

Who plays at the 2023 Laver Cup?

Twelve of the best players in the world will compete in Vancouver at the Laver Cup. John McEnroe, the seven-time Grand Slam champion, is the captain for Team World. He has four fellow Americans on his team led by the best ranked among them Taylor Fritz. Frances Tiafoe, Tommy Paul and the 2023 US Open semifinalist Ben Shelton are also on the team that features Felix Auger-Aliassime from Canada and Francisco Cerundolo from Argentina.

Team Europe is led by the 11-tiem Grand Slam champion, Bjorn Borg, and features Andrey Rublev from Russia, Casper Ruud from Norway, Alejandro Davidovich Fokina from Spain, Hubert Hurkacz from Poland and Gael Monfils and Arthur Fils from France.

Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!