Horse Racing

Grand National past winners and their odds: A full list of 21st century winners

With the 2023 renewal of the Grand National now just days away, we take a look back at those who’ve won the race since the turn of the century. How did those winners shape in the betting? How many were fancied? Which horses shocked the betting public and came home in front at mammoth odds? Let’s take a look.

Grand National Winners Since 2000

2022 – Noble Yeats (50/1)

2021 – Minella Times (11/1)

2019 – Tiger Roll (4/1 F)

2018 – Tiger Roll (10/1)

2017 – One For Arthur (14/1)

2016 – Rule The World (33/1)

2015 – Many Clouds (25/1)

2014 – Pineau De Re (25/1)

2013 – Auroras Encore (66/1)

2012 – Neptune Collonges (33/1)

2011 – Ballabriggs (14/1)

2010 – Don’t Push It (10/1 JF)

2009 – Mon Mome (100/1)

2008 – Comply Or Die (7/1 JF)

2007 – Silver Birch (33/1)

2006 – Numbersixvalverde (11/1)

2005 – Hedgehunter (7/1 F)

2004 – Amberleigh House (16/1)

2003 – Monty’s Pass (16/1)

2002 – Bindaree (20/1)

2001 – Red Marauder (33/1)

2000 – Papillon (10/1)

Favourites often flounder in the Grand National

As we can see from the above list of winners, the burden of Grand National favouritism is a heavy one to shoulder. For most, that burden is too much to carry.

Since 2000, only two outright favourites have won, Tiger Roll in 2019 and Hedgehunter in 2005. Two joint-favourites got the job done in the form of Don’t Push It in 2010 and Comply Or Die in 2008.

Short priced horses, which in the Grand National can be anything under 10/1, don’t have a great record in this race, at least not in terms of winning. Tiger Roll was the first winner at less than 10/1 since 2008, while there have only be three winners at single-figure odds since the turn of the century.

Even if we go back further, we can see that this famous race is far from a happy hunting ground for favourites. Only two favourites confirmed strong market support to win in the 1990’s, while there wasn’t a single winning favourite between 1982 and 1996.

Somewhat bizarrely, in the last 50 renewals of the Grand National, there have only been eight winning favourites, meaning that statistically, the favourite wins the national less than once every five years.

Don’t fear those at big odds

The lack of winning favourites in this race leads nicely into the fact that we shouldn’t fear outsiders.

If the list of 21st century Grand National winners shows us anything, then it might just be that we shouldn’t be scared of backing one at a price. The race is often described as a lottery, so don’t be surprised if the winner isn’t massively fancied in the pre-race betting.

Last year’s winner Noble Yeats was a prime example, winning at 50/1. In fact, six of the last ten winners of the Grand National have been sent off at odds of 25/1 or greater. Three of the last eight winners were priced at 33/1 or bigger.

Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!