New Zealand pick Ben Lister, Chad Bowes for ODIs against Sri Lanka

Tom Latham will lead the New Zealand side against Sri Lanka, with Ben Lister and Chad Bowes getting called up in the absence of senior players. 

New Zealand have named a 16-member squad to face Sri Lanka in three ODIs starting from March 25. Tom Latham is set to lead the new-look side in the absence of senior players due to commitments in the Indian Premier League. 

Ben Lister and Chad Bowes have received maiden call-ups in the ODI side. Lister, who plays for Auckland Aces, had made his T20I debut in India last month, while Bowes could make his international debut on the back of a strong domestic performance. Playing for Canterbury, Bowes has scored 373 runs in List A cricket at 46.63 and 359 runs in T20s at 39.89 average.

The hero of the first Test against Sri Lanka Kane Williamson, Tim Southee, Devon Conway and Mitchell Santner are the four players who will skip the series and fly out early to join their respective IPL franchises. Lockie Ferguson, Glenn Phillips and Finn Allen will play the first ODI at Eden Park before heading to India.  


“Chad has been impressive for a number of seasons at the top of the order for Canterbury as well as being an excellent fielder. We are set to play 16 white ball matches between now and the start of May, so there will be a number of chances for players to test themselves in familiar and unfamiliar conditions,” said New Zealand coach Gary Stead. 

“Ben’s had a challenging time in the past six to seven months, but he’s back fit again, and we are really excited by the point of difference he brings to the bowling group,” he added. 

The series also marks a return of Tom Blundell and Will Young to the white-ball set-up. Blundell has been one of New Zealand’s most impactful players in Test cricket in the last year or so. 

“Tom Blundell, in particular, is someone who we’ve been hugely impressed by in international cricket over the past 18 months as a leader in the Test team and then domestically with the Wellington Firebirds. It’s an exciting opportunity for Tom ahead of a big year of white-ball cricket,” the head coach said.

New Zealand ODI Squad

Tom Latham (c), Finn Allen, Tom Blundell, Chad Bowes, Michael Bracewell, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Matt Henry, Ben Lister, Daryl Mitchell, Henry Nicholls, Glenn Phillips, Henry Shipley, Ish Sodhi, Blair Tickner, Will Young.

Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!