Shanghai Masters 2023 prize money – how much will the winners get?

The 2023 tennis season is entering the last couple of months, and the best players of the ATP tour will square off at the Shanghai Masters. After the tournament was canceled in the previous three years due to travel restrictions, the Shanghai Masters is back on the ATP calendar. The singles main draw will feature 56 players, while the doubles tournament will see 24 teams in the opening round. The tournament will take place from 4-15 October at the Qizhong Forest Sports City Arena in the Minhang District of Shanghai.

Shanghai Masters 2023 prize money - how much will the winners get?
Photo: Robert Deutsch-USA TODAY Sports/Sipa USA – Photo by Icon sport

Shanghai Masters prize money and Ranking Points – Singles

The total budget for the Shanghai Masters prize money is $8.8 million.

Most of that will be split between the 56 singles players that will compete during the following week. The singles tournament winner will earn $1,262,220 and 1,000 ATP points.

The runner-up will earn $662,360 and 600 points, while the semifinalists will earn $352,6350 and 360 ATP points each.

The players who finish their participation in the quarterfinals of the tournament will earn $184,465 and 180 ATP points each. Those who will be defeated in the round of 16 will get $96,955 and 90 ATP points each.

The players who will fail in the third round of the main draw will earn $55,770 and 45 ATP points, those who will lose in the second, $30,855 and 25 ATP points while the ones who will exit after the opening round, $18,660 and 10 ATP points.

Shanghai Open prize money and Ranking Points – Doubles

The doubles that will win the Shanghai Masters tournament will earn $436,730 and 1000 ATP points.

The runner-ups will earn $231,660 and 600 ATP points.

The doubles that will end up losing in the semifinal round will earn  $123,550 and 360 ATP points.

The doubles that will end the tournament in the quarterfinals will earn $62,630 and 180 ATP points.

Each of the doubles that will fail in the Round of 16 will earn $33,460 and 90 ATP points, while the ones that will exit in the opening round will earn $18,020 and no ATP points.

Shanghai Masters History and Previous Winners

Shanghai Masters 2023 prize money - how much will the winners get?
Photo by Icon Sport

The ATP Shanghai tournament was organized for the first time in 1996 and in 2009 it became one of the Masters 1000 series. The Shanghai Open is back on the ATP calendar for the first time since 2019. The last winner of the tournament is Daniil Medvedev who defeated Alexander Zverev in the final 6-4, 6-1. In the doubles tournament that year, Mate Pavic and Bruno Soares defeated Luas Kubot and Marcelo Melo 6-4, 6-2.

Novak Djokovic is the most successful singles player at the Shanghai Masters winning four times, in 2012, 2013, 2015 and 2018. Andy Murray follows him with three titles, Roger Federer has two and Medvedev and Nikolay Davydenko have won it once.

Murray is the youngest winner with 23 years, 4 months and 10 days in 2010 and Federer is the oldest one with 36 years, 2 months and 7 days in 2017.

Murray and Djokovic has the most finals appearances with four, and they are the only players to win two consecutive titles. Djokovic is the one with the most matches player 39 and most wins, 34. The Serbian also has the most consecutive wins in Shanghai with 13 and the highest winning percentage of 88.9%.

Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!