Tennis French Open

French Open Winners – Nadal and the Selected Company

The French Open, widely known as Roland Garros, is the second Grand Slam tournament of the season. The tournament was founded in 1891 and, since 1928, is played on outdoor clay courts at the Stade Roland Garros in the French capital, Paris. In 1968, it became the first Grand Slam tournament open to non-amateur players. The first winner of the French Open was H. Briggs back in 1891.

Rafael Nadal – The King of Roland Garros

Rafael Nadal
Photo by Baptiste Fernandez/Icon Sport

Rafael Nadal is the absolute record holder at the French Open, sitting on top among the Roland Garros winners with 14 titles. The Spaniard also holds the record for the most consecutive titles winning five in a row from 2010 to 2014 and he also has won it four consecutive times, twice. He won his first French Open title back in 2005 when he was only 18 years old, defeating Mariano Puerta in the finals. That was his first Grand Slam title and the first time he played in Paris. He lost only three sets on his way to the title and, among others, defeated David Ferrer and Roger Federer. He became only the second player in the open era to win the tournament in his first appearance after Matts Wilander did the same in 1982.

Nadal is also the defending champion, as he won last year, defeating Casper Ruud in the final. He became the oldest player ever to win the trophy as he did it two days after his 36th birthday.

Nadal has an incredible 112-3 all-time record at the French Open. The only players who ever defeated him at Roland Garros are Robin Soderling in 2009 and Novak Djokovic twice, in 2015 and 2021. Three times, in 2008, 2010 and 2017, Nadal won the tournament without dropping a single set. One of his most impressive performances came in the 2008 final when he allowed Federer to win only four games.

Due to his iconic status in Paris and being the best player in French Open history, Nadal was honored with a sculpture at the Porte d’Auteuil stadium in May 2021. The statue was created by Spanish sculptor Jordi Díez Fernandez and stands three-meters tall.

Unfortunately, Nadal will miss the 2023 French Open due to a lingering hip injury that has sidelined him since January.

Most French Open Men’s titles

14 – Rafael Nadal

8 – Max Decugis

6 – Bjorn Borg

5 – Henri Cochet

4 – André Vacherot, Paul Aymé

3 – Maurice Germot, René Lacoste, Mats Wilander, Ivan Lendl, Gustavo Kuerten

French Open – The Last 10 Men’s Winner

2022 – Rafael Nadal

2021 – Novak Djokovic

2020 – Rafael Nadal

2019 – Rafael Nadal

2018 – Rafael Nadal

2017 – Rafael Nadal

2016 – Novak Djokovic

2015 – Stan Wawrinka

2014 – Rafael Nadal

2013 – Rafael Nadal

Chris Evert – The Woman With the Most French Open Titles

The women’s tournament is being held since 1897. The first winner was Adine Masson who won the first three editions. Iga Swiatek is the defending champion after last year’s win which was her second trophy at Roland Garros.

Chris Evert is on top of the French Open winners when it comes to the ladies’ tournament. The American won 7 of her 18 Grand Slams in Paris. The American won her first French Open title back in 1974 when she was only 19 years old. That was her first Grand Slam title and she went all the way without dropping a single set and allowed Olga Morozova to win only three games in the final match. She never won more than two French Open titles and won her last ones in 1985 and 1986 which ended up being her last Grand Slam titles.

Suzanne Lenglen won six Roland Garros titles, all prior the open era. She was the inaugural world No. 1 from 1921 to 1926. Lenglen was the first leading amateur to turn professional and won her Roland Garros titles from 1920 to 1926.

Lenglen was known as La Divine and La Grand Dame of French tennis and one of the courts at the French Open is named after her.

Most French Open Women’s titles

7 – Chris Evert

6 – Suzanne Lenglen, Steffi Graf

5 – Adine Masson, Margaret Court

4 – Kate Gillou, Jeanne Matthey, Helen Willis, Justine Henin

3 – Hilde Krahwinkel Sperling, Arantxa Sánchez Vicario, Monica Seles, Serena Williams

French Open – The Last 10 Women’s Winner

2022 – Iga Swiatek

2021 – Barbora Krejcikova

2020 – Iga Swiatek

2019 – Ashleigh Barty

2018 – Simona Halep

2017 – Jelena Ostapenko

2016 – Garbine Muguruza

2015 – Serena Williams

2014 – Maria Sharapova

2013 – Serena Williams

French Open Men’s Doubles – Players with the most titles

6 – Roy Emerson

5 – Jean Borotra, Jacques Brugnon

4 – Max Mirnyi, Daniel Nestor

3 – Tony Trabert, Neale Fraser, John Newcombe, Anders Järryd, Paul Haarhuis , Yevgeny Kafelnikov, Leander Paes

French Open Women’s Doubles Winner – Players with the most titles

7 – Martina Navratilova

6 – Suzanne Lenglen, Simonne Mathieu, Gigi Fernández, Natalia Zvereva, Virginia Ruano Pascual

5 – Jeanne Matthey, Doris Hart, Françoise Dürr

4 – Daisy Speranza, Elizabeth Ryan, Shirley Fry, Renée Schuurman, Gail Chanfreau, Pam Shriver, Paola Suárez, Kristina Mladenovic

3 – Didi Vlasto, Billie Yorke, Cosette St. Omer Roy, Alice Weiwers, Louise Brough, Margaret Osborne duPont, Darlene Hard, Sandra Reynolds, Ann Haydon-Jones, Margaret Smith, Jana Novotna

French Open Mixed Doubles Winner – Players with the most titles

7 – Max Decugis, Suzanne Lenglen

5 – Jacques Brugnon

4 – Margaret Court

3 – Marguerite Broquedis, Jean Borotra, Doris Hart, Ken Fletcher, Françoise Dürr, Jean-Claude Barclay, Katarina Srebotnik

Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!