Cycling Sports News

La Vuelta 2023 Stage 3: Evenpoel takes stage and red jersey

After two rather chaotic days in the saddle, the riders were hoping that the first mountain stage would bring some peace for them and the possibility to focus on what they can do best: riding a bike up a steep road in the fastest manner possible.

The 158 kilometres from Suria to Arinsal. in Andorra presented the riders with a slow ascent over the first 116 kilometres before the going got tough until the finish line in Arinsal.

ICONSPORT 1133284234 scaled
The thrid stage of La Vuelta 2023 from Suria to Arinsal; Photo by Icon sport

La Vuelta 2023 Stage 3 Report

It was a stage made for the climbers and for the riders with their eyes on the overall victory. From the start, the course of the race slowly but continuously went up, before the serious mountains began. Despite the incline, the average speed in the first hour of racing was a whopping 42,5km/h. From the start, several attempts at breakaway formed almost immediately but most failed and the peloton yoyoed back. With 35 kilometres gone, a group of six got away and were joined by more riders as the course went along. They opened up a gap of five minutes at the maximum; mostly the gap oscilated between 4 minutes and 4 minutes 40 seconds. With 50 kilometres to go, the gap was down to 3:25 and decreased subsequently second by second. On the last downhill the gap was narrowed down to a mere 55 seconds with the final climb towards Arinsal, a category 1 climb of 8,3 kilometres in length and with an average gradient of 7,7%.

The Points along the Road

The points for sprinters and climbers came late in today’s stage and tested the patience of the riders.

The Intermediate Sprint

The sprint in Andorra la Vella at a height of 1000m above sea level marked the end of the day for the sprinters. Five riders collected points at the intermediate sprint.

1. Andrea Vendrame (AG2R Citroën), 20 pts
2. Rune Herregodts (Intermarché-Circus-Wanty), 17 pts
3. Mathis Le Berre (Arkea Samsic), 15 pts
4. Amanuel Gehbreigzbhier (Lidl-Trek), 13 pts
5. Jon Barrenetxea (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA), 10 pts

King of the Mountain points

At the Coll d’Ordino, the spoils were shared among five riders:

1. Eduardo Sepulveda (Lotto Dstny), 10 pts
2. Damiano Caruso (Bahrain Victorious), 6 pts
3. Lennard Kämna (Bora-Hansgrohe), 4 pts
4. Amanuel Gehbreigzabhier (Lidl Trek), 2 pts
5. Jay Vine (UAE Team Emirates), 1 pt

Evenepoel win stage 3 of La Vuelta 2023

The showdown began as the breakaway group was pulverised by continuous attacks, among the attackers were Damiano Caruso of Bahrain Victorious and Lennart Kämna of Bora Hansgrohe. The German climber took the lead and had a 1:30 advantage on the peloton but with 3 kilometres, the gap was only 30 seconds with Vingegaard, Evenepoel chasing.

Eventually, it was Remco Evenepoel, last year’s champion who crossed the line first after he outsprinted Jonas Vingegaard who finished second, a mere second behind him.

The Top Ten of Stage 3

  • 1. Remco Evenepoel (Soudal Quick-Step)
  • 2. J. Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma), +1”
  • 3. J. Ayuso (UAE Team Emirates)
  • 4. P. Roglic (Jumbo-Visma)
  • 5. M. Soler (UAE Team Emirates)
  • 6. E. Mas (Movistar)
  • 7. L. Martinez (Groupama-FDJ)
  • 8. C. Uijtdebroeks (Bora-Hansgrohe)
  • 9. J. Almeida (UAE Team Emirates)
  • 10. A. Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe)

The Top Ten of the General Classification

  • 1. R. Evenepoel (Soudal Quick-Step)
  • 2. E. Mas (Movistar) +5″
  • 3. L. Martinez (Groupama-FDJ) +11″
  • 4. J. Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) +31″
  • 5. A. Vlasov (Bora-Hansgrohe) +33″
  • 6. C. Uijtdebroeks (Bora-Hansgrohe) “”
  • 7. R. Bardet (DSM-Firmenich) +35″
  • 8. S. Buitrago (Bahrain Victorious) “”
  • 9. W. Kelderman (Jumbo-Visma) +37″
  • 10. P. Roglic (Jumbo-Vista) “”

The Top Ten of the Sprinters

  • 1. A. Vendrame (AG2R Citroën Team) 42pts
  • 2. A. Kron (Lotto DSTNY) 30pts
  • 3. K. Groves (Alpecin-Deceuninck) 25pts
  • 4. R. Evenepoel (Soudal Quick-Step) 20pts
  • 5. A. Piccolo (EF Education-Easypost) 20pts
  • 6. A. Bagiol (Soudal Quick-Step) 19pts
  • 7. J. Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) 17pts
  • 8. J. Romo (Astana) 17pts
  • 9. F. Barcelo (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) 17pts
  • 10. F. R. Herregodts (intermarché-Circus-Wanty) 17pts

The King of the Mountains Classification

  • 1. R. Evenepoel (Soudal Quick-Step) 10pts
  • 2. E. Sepulveda (Lotto DSTNY) 10pts
  • 3. M. Sobrero (Team Jayco-AIUIa) 6pts
  • 4. J. Romo (Astana) 6pts
  • 5. J. Vingegaard (Jumbo-Visma) 6pts
  • 6. D. Caruso (Bahrain Victorious) 6pts
  • 7. J. Ayuso (UAE Team Emirates) 4pts
  • 8. L. Kämna (Bora-Hansgrohe) 4pts
  • 9. A. Kron (Lotto DSTNY) 3pts
  • 10. J. Nicolau (Caja Rural-Seguros RGA) 3pts

Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!