IPL Winners List: Every team to win the Indian Premier League

The IPL Winners List is a comprehensive one with the league gaining immense popularity over the years. The IPL has provided a platform not only for Indian cricketers but also for overseas players to display their potential at the grandest stage. It also gave a chance the budding cricketers to rub shoulders with some of the legends of the game. Starting in 2008, the cash-rich league has grown from strength to strength and is one of the most successful sporting leagues in the world today.

IPL Winners List

A total of 15 editions have been played and the IPL Winners List includes teams like Mumbai Indians, Chennai Super Kings, Kolkata Knight Riders, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Deccan Chargers Rajasthan Royals and Gujarat Titans. MI are the most successful franchise in the history of the league having won the trophy five times while CSK, under MS Dhoni, has won the title four times.

KKR made it to the IPL Winners List in 2012 and ended up winning the trophy again in IPL 2014. The likes of SRH, now-defunct DC, RR and GT have won the trophy once each.

IPL Winners List

With IPL 2023 coming soon, here we bring you the list of IPL Winners List until now. The final of the inaugural IPL season was played between Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings. Shane Warne led the Royals’ side to glory against MS Dhoni’s CSK. Rajasthan Royals chased down 164 runs in the last-over thriller to become the first-ever IPL winners by three wickets.

One of the most popular franchises in modern-day cricket, Royal Challengers Bangalore played their first IPL final in 2009 against the now-defunct Deccan Chargers, the then-Hyderabad franchise. It was a low-scoring affair with the RCB failing to chase down 144 runs. They could only reach 137 thanks to a terrific bowling effort from the Chargers.

The two arch-rivals of IPL cricket, CSK and MI, clashed in the IPL final for the first time in 2010. MS Dhoni opened the innings for CSK who smashed 168 runs in their 20 overs. Mumbai Indians, playing their first IPL final, fell short of the target by 22 runs as CSK won the trophy for the first time.

List of IPL Seasons with IPL Winners

2022Gujarat Titans7 wicketsRajasthan Royals
2021Chennai super kings27 runsKolkata Knight Riders
2020Mumbai Indians5 wicketsDelhi Capitals
2019Mumbai Indians1 runChennai Super Kings
2018Chennai Super Kings8 wicketsSunrisers Hyderabad
2017Mumbai Indians1 runRising Pune Supergiants
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad8 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2015Mumbai Indians41 runsChennai Super Kings
2014Kolkata Knight Riders3 wicketsKings XI Punjab
2013Mumbai Indians23 runsChennai Super Kings
2012Kolkata Knight Riders5 wicketsChennai Super Kings
2011Chennai Super Kings58 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2010Chennai Super Kings22 runsMumbai Indians
2009Deccan Chargers6 runsRoyal Challengers Bangalore
2008Rajasthan Royals3 wicketsChennai Super Kings

MS Dhoni and his troops defended their title in 2011 to become the first-ever team to win IPL in successive years. They defeated RCB by a whopping 58 runs in the final thanks to scintillating knocks from Michael Hussey and Murali Vijay.

A new team was added to the IPL Winners List in 2012. CSK qualified for their third successive final but this time, Gautam Gambhir led Kolkata Knight Riders to create history by chasing down the mammoth total of 191 in the last over. Manvinder Bisla won the Player of the Match for his exceptional knock while opening the innings.

Mumbai Indians became the fifth team to win the IPL trophy in the 2013 season. They avenged the 2010 IPL final loss against the CSK winning the summit clash by 23 runs and defending 148 runs. Kolkata Knight Riders repeated their 2012 heroics in the IPL 2014 and this time, they got the better of first-time finalists, Punjab Kings, then Kings XI Punjab.

Things returned to normalcy in 2015 as CSK made it to their sixth final but yet again, they lost to Mumbai Indians. MI posted a huge total of 202 runs batting first and in response, CSK could only reach 161 losing the game by 41 runs.

Sunrisers Hyderabad, led by David Warner, won their first-ever title in the 2016 edition. The captain led from the front throughout the tournament as they halted a winning juggernaut of Royal Challengers Bangalore, led by Virat Kohli beating them by 8 runs.

IPL Winners List

The most thrilling IPL final was played in 2017 when Mumbai Indians, led by Rohit Sharma, faced Rising Pune Super Giants. The then-two-time champions defended a modest total to win the thrilling game by just one run. Steve Smith who led the Pune franchise was left heartbroken after the tough loss.

CSK returned after a two-year ban in 2018 and was back to winning the titles. Sunrisers Hyderabad was aiming for their second IPL trophy but CSK thrashed them by eight wickets in the chase with Shane Watson smashing a thumping ton in the chase.

List of Most Titles

Mumbai Indians5 times2013, 2015, 2017, 2019, 2020
Chennai Super Kings4 times2010, 2011, 2018, 2021
Kolkata Knight Riders2 times2012, 2014
Sunrisers Hyderabad1 time2016
Rajasthan Royals1 time2008
Deccan Chargers1 time2009
Gujrat Titans1 time2022

It was a race between MI and CSK now in winning titles. MI registered yet another one-run win in the final beating CSK in IPL 2019. Chasing down 150 runs, CSK fell agonisingly short by just one run thanks to a sensational slower delivery from Lasith Malinga that won them the final.

IPL 2020 was played in the UAE but that didn’t stop Mumbai Indians from stamping their authority yet again. There was literally no competition for them as they looked like a team to beat. MI easily defeated Delhi Capitals chasing down 157 runs in the 19th over.

MS Dhoni-led Chennai Super Kings sealed their fourth title in IPL 2021 as they defeated KKR in the final. CSK posted 190-odd runs batting first and despite being in a strong position at one stage, KKR fell short in the mammoth chase.

Two new teams, Gujarat Titans and Lucknow Supergiants were added to the IPL in the 2022 season to make it a 10-team competition. And Hardik Pandya led the Gujarat Titans to a famous title victory in its debut season. They defeated Rajasthan Royals, led by Sanju Samson, who played the IPL final for the first time since their 2008 title triumph.

IPL Winners

As many as seven teams have so far won the IPL trophy in its 15-year history. Among current teams, only Royal Challengers Bangalore, Lucknow Supergiants, Punjab Kings, and Delhi Capitals – haven’t won the IPL so far. They will be hoping to do wonders in the upcoming seasons and arrest the dominance of other teams. A fruitful IPL Auction for the 2023 season for all teams has made the squads strong and it remains to be seen if any new team wins the IPL trophy for the first time.

Subscribe to Punditfeed on Google News for all the latest updates from the world of sports!